Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Changing Landscape

I couldn't get comfortable last night and my wounded leg hurt more than I was prepared for. It got worse when I got up, so I canceled my Pilates class and have not set foot outside all day. I think I have a better understanding of why the dermatologist was so apologetic about having to leave the wound open. I'm not easily rattled by such things, but I was unprepared  for the hole in my leg the size of a quarter when I took the bandage off this morning. It's still fairly minor, but I felt somewhat more justified about feeling just a wee bit sorry for myself...

Without going out, I couldn't really take anything more classic, landscape wise,  than the view from the kitchen window which I've done too many times already, so I took some liberties and pulled a couple of old pictures. I did make the collage today and it is intended illustrate my thought that 'classic' and 'unchanging' are not necessarily the same when it comes to landscape. Both pictures were taken from about the same place at Spike's Meadow. The top one was taken in Februrary when there was  very unusual snow on the hills, the grass was green, and the pond and even some of the meadow trails were full of water. The bottom picture was taken a couple of weeks ago. The sky was uncharacteristically cloudy but the meadow is dry golden grass, and the pond has no discernible water in it. The newts have come and gone as have the frogs. Just another reminder that Nature, and therefore landscape, is never static. 

I could also have showed the hills covered with the skeletons of burned trees on the hills behind us, but I've showed them before. The fire that destroyed them is a direct result of climate change with hotter, drier, windier weather. 

Probably most of us can agree that while many of us are doing everything we can to save the earth, there doesn't seem to be the political will to pass legislation to make the kinds of changes that really needed to be made decades ago. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.