Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Dragon Wings

I contemplated canceling the appointment with the 'no surgery' doctor in the orthopedic office this morning since it was for a cortisone shot in my knee and it isn't my knee that is causing me to limp but the hole in my leg. In the end I kept the appointment since I didn't act due to sheer inertia. 

I asked John to drive me as the orthopedic office, like so many other things we do, is over the hill to the other side of town and a half hour drive. As the receptionist said when I explained my late arrival due to traffic she said she'd been hearing that a lot. We agreed that due to various ongoing construction projects, choosing a route is 'a crapshoot'.

In the end, the nice young doctor confirmed my suspicion and suggested that I wait awhile for another injection. That seemed like a good idea to me too...I was just sorry that I dragged John along. At least he didn't have long to wait.

Back at the ranch I kept thinking that our 'view' over toward the neighbor's not-so-attractive house seemed to have changed. When John went to investigate, it turns out that a very large tree, just on the other side of the fence had fallen, snapping off a branch of another tree before falling on the fence. Fortunately, Albino, our great tree guy came, took the offending branch off the fence, pulled up the crushed wire and took away the broken fence post (the third one to be destroyed by fire or falling  trees) and said he'd be back tomorrow to cut it all up and haul it away. I wonder where the graveyard for fallen trees is? There must be thousands of them that have been cut or burned since the Nun's fire in 2017. There are also thousands of uncut burned ones revealed even more clearly through the space created by the fallen trees on our property....or maybe Dorie's. on the other side of the fence. But she has moved away without rebuilding, and it seems easier to just get on with it than figuring out who should pay for it.

Thank you for the sympathy and the permission to feel sorry for myself. The tried and true RICE treatment (rest, ice, compression and elevation) seem to be helping, as did a somewhat better night's sleep. 

I'm still feeling a teeny bit sorry for myself. ;-)

*From my collection of odds and ends collected over the years. The dragonfly is deceased but the wings are still fascinating,. Other things in the collection include feathers, seed pods, acorns, lichen covered twigs and an owl pellet in which small bones and teeth are visible...The full creature can be found in extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.