Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Over the lily ponds

Our visitors leave at midday; it’s been lovely to see them, but I must admit to feeling very tired and just slump into a few hours of stupor on the conservatory sofa. 

By mid afternoon, I’m keen to make the effort to go out. After all, the weather’s beautiful and after yesterday’s confinement due to rain, a short trip out in the car is calling. 

I’m thinking of Wide Wednesday’s ‘classical landscape’ challenge, and have in mind some Bodnant views that I feel will fit the bill. In the event, I just can’t get the shot I’m looking for however, and abandon landscapes in favour of the dragons flying skittishly across the lily ponds. It’s a welcome chance to sit down on the grass - surprisingly not damp - and watch their antics. The usual suspects are large emperors - both male and female - but today it’s a Southern Hawker that’s my subject - I think it may well be the first time that I’ve blipped one (better large if you have time!) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.