Pheasants

A walk around the bird sanctuary this afternoon leads to an unexpected discovery; a female pheasant and her tiny chicks. Firstly, I’m surprised to see a pheasant at all - uncommon sightings here; then there’s the fact that it’s a female - I think this is the first time I’ve actually seen one; and finally - chicks in September? Surely it’s far too late in the season for another brood. 

Stopped in my tracks, I manage a shot of mum looking rather lovely in the September sunshine despite her lack of gaudy colour. But those tinies are too quick for me and hide in the long grasses. Then she spots me and turns quickly for the hedgerow, offspring following, leaving me with a disappearing glimpse of fluffy feather and foot as the last chick chases after mum (in extras) 

Thanks so much for the love shown towards Reggie yesterday - much appreciated. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.