tempus fugit

By ceridwen

September dusk

A late walk with the dog and as we turned for home at this point I saw the wild fennel gleaming in the gloaming. It grows along a grassy bank at this point on this busy road and I'm  reluctant to pick it so close to the traffic fumes. I always aim to collect some seed and plant it at home but the  regular maintenance (read  'excess trimming') of the roadside verge means it's always cut down too soon.

Along the coast a bunch of youngsters were swimming off the rocks in a little inlet below the cliffs. It was pleasant to see them enjoying a such traditional activity.

On the way back along the green lane, now crisp with dead leaves underfoot, I was startled by two startled horses that had escaped from where they should be. They were not in any danger but I rang the farmer when I got home and he went to fetch them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.