Keith B

By keibr

As summer ends...

Lots of activity today marking the changing of the seasons. I picked the last of the (Amandine) potatoes, and washed and bagged them up for the cellar. I've had a slight problem with some of the potatoes rotting from the inside but once I realised the affected tubers were also discoloured I checked thoroughly and hopefully have dumped all the diseased ones.
I also took in all the (nicely dry) garden furniture; it seems less and less likely it will be warm enough to sit out, so the tables and chairs head for their winter quarters. I've picked the last of the peas and cleared the pea plants away from their beds. Most of those peas will be used for seeds next spring. Picked a load of broad beans, but there are still many left. When we set off on our camper van trip I'll load up with the last of the broad beans. Likewise there are two large courgettes still out there in the garden, but there's a limit to how much courgette one can eat (or even freeze)!  The shade umbrellas have gone to the cellar.
The final job today was wandering about the garden picking blackcurrants (searching for the stragglers now), blackberries (ripening more slowly now) and wild plums. These will be fruit for breakfast tomorrow, picked now in anticipation of rain tomorrow morning. How's that for planning?
I'm still tagging my blips "summer" but there's now the "autumn" tag as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.