Keith B

By keibr

Broad beans

Autumn is definitely moving in. I stood outside on the doorstep at about midnight last night. There was no moon but the northern sky was illuminated by an overall glow of aurora borealis. General green illumination with a few faint rippling curtains. Above my head the Milky Way stretched across the sky. A red deer stag was grunting noisily a few hundred metres away, and an owl gave its traditional cry in the nearby trees. The nighttime can be very interesting, with lots to hear and see.
Perhaps because I'd been observing the night the evening before, I woke up late this morning. A pleasant cup of tea with Jan and then I got into picking peas and broad beans out of their pods. I think they'll be going into a broth tomorrow. Even the best peas were a little too old to eat straight. The really dry ones have gone into the pot for next spring's seeds. 
The beans are perfect, but despite that they are not particularly exciting, and don't make for a great photograph. However, that was typical of my day today.
It's Friday evening so I'll wish everyone a happy weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.