Mrsmacdub

By Mrsmacdub

Sanding and stripping

I had been complaining that things seem to take so long to get done, then MrMacD received a call from the plumber who had agreed to install our new laundry unit.  Thank goodness I’d done a load of washing and had time to take it out of the machine before he arrived.  It’s the first step to creating a laundry/utility room that works.  The laundry was a mess, now it’s starting to look more like a workable space.  We’ve still got a way to go, but we’ve taken the first step.  The rest is up to MrMacD and me.  I took a photo of the old tub sitting in the carport while we decide what to do with it, which is the only photo I had a chance to take today.

While the plumber was there we asked him about three other things we might like to do.  There was obviously a toilet and handbasin downstairs, but they’d been taken out.  We’d like to reinstate them and the plumber said it’s an easy job to do.  The second thing is whether a filter cylinder for drinking water could be installed under the kitchen sink.  The plumber said yes.  The third thing was to remove the wood burner.  We’re not going to use it as it creates pollution and also a slightly smokey smell indoors.  The plumber said yes, he can do that, but not straight away.  That suits us perfectly.

During the morning the real estate agent who sold the house to us popped in to say hello and see how we were getting on.  It was good to see him.  I received a call this afternoon from the man at the tile shop we visited during the week to say that he hadn’t forgotten us, but the tiler had been working out in the country and he hadn’t been able to touch base with him to arrange for him to come to give us a quote.  I thought that was very courteous.

MrMacD baked his sourdough loaves this morning.  I spent most of the day working on my new project.  I did quite a lot of sanding this morning, then started using paint stripper this afternoon.  The paint stripper has worked quite differently on this piece than on the bedside tables.  After scraping off most of the stripper I started to clean it with white spirits, but then realised that there was still some stripper left, so used newspaper to clean off as much as I could, then went back to the white spirits.  I’ll see what it looks like in the morning.  I feel as if I’ve had a tough workout at the gym after today’s efforts!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.