PandaPics

By pandammonium

Be More Japan

I’m reading about Japanese culture from that book I bought the other day. So different to Western culture.

The language is fascinating. I learnt Spanish, so I can get by in Spain ok. Written French isn’t too horrific, but the spoken language is difficult. Greece is tricky, what with the different alphabet and the spoken language sounding like some incomprehensible form of Spanish, due to the common phonemes.

Japanese doesn’t use an alphabet; they don’t even use one single writing system, but a mix of kanji, which is Chinese logograms used to write Japanese, and kana, which is split into two different syllabaries. Only look up the Japanese writing system if you actually want a headache – Wikipedia doesn’t describe it as ‘one of the most complicated [writing systems] currently in use’ for nothing!

As for how any of it is pronounced, I have no idea. I suspect Google Translate is going to be busy.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.