Look Out

By chrisf

Wordle

I love a bit of irrelevant statistical enlightenment.

I am into doing the Wordle puzzle whilst having my breakfast each morning. I have been reading an article which suggests I am one of approx 2 million English speakers who engage in this harmless activity. Two interesting pieces of information:
* one third of those taking part start with the same word each day, even when it’s already been “used”. I am one of this minority, although my starter word hasn’t come up yet (or I’ve long forgotten it has) !
* a very small minority cheat. Statistically 0.043% of people should get the word right first time, but the percentage never dips below 0.2%. No doubt a bit of boasting on social media, but what’s the point ?

These dahlia flowers get heavy on the plant and the stalks break, so J has rescued them for display indoors

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.