CrocusMan

By TonyG

Cutting Back

I spotted these Crocus tournefortii, engulfed in the expanding growth of Tunica saxifraga which thankfully is easily cut back.   This crocus was the subject of the first Blip I posted back in October 2011.  It's still one of my favourites, beautiful, easy to grow and long lived.  I have grown this form for 34 years.

A fairly gentle day at work in the railway shop.  Home in good time and after putting something in the oven for tea before heading out with Meg to my blackberry lane.   Sadly the hot weather seems to have hurried the spoiling of ripe ones, there were far more over-ripe ones than good ones.  I did gather a tubful but it may be the last picking this year.  Meg enjoyed mooching along the hedgerow, picking up all sorts of scents.

Home again and tea was tasty, much enhanced by an apple crumble made with the first of the apples that Sue brought round yesterday.  Yum!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.