biddy

By biddy

And then there were three!

I didn’t think yesterday I would make it to this get together with two of Stephen’s old work colleagues from their days at Birmingham City Council in the Legal Department.
On the left is Tracey, whose hubby couldn’t make it as he was helping their son and his partner move into their new flat up in South Manchester,
Sharon, on the right was without her hubby and son who had decided to fly to Nice last night for the Rugby match between Wales and Portugal today!
So we were down to the four of us.
They all left the City Council in the early 2000’s to go on to other things.
Perhaps as well!
It’s shocking to think that the City has gone bankrupt.
One of our friends heads up Services for Special Needs Children and it is already heartbreaking hearing some of the stories where help is no longer available due to lack of funds.
This is obviously repeated in lots of other sectors.
Anyway enough of that for now,
We meet Sharon on and off for a catch-up , and she made our Golden Wedding Cake as a gift. https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/3129514685250931952
It’s like a little business now amongst a plethora of other things with which she is involved.
Tracey had driven down from Cheshire to meet us at Ego French restaurant in Lichfield. Great food at fairly reasonable prices.
I enjoyed listening to them reminisce as Tracey is about to retire in a few more weeks shortly after her 60th birthday.
I remember Sharon’s first child, Luke being born, and going to visit her in Hospital.
She had the wooden rocking crib when they were home, which had been a gift to us when Alan was born 39 years ago now.
How time telescopes!
Tracey now has three grownup children in their twenties,
I enjoyed my lunch very much, and was glad I’d made the effort to go.
I’m now changed into lounging about attire.
We were home by 4:00pm and it was just enough for me.
Now doing better each day but need to be careful not to overdo it!
I begin to see things that need doing in the garden………….
For now the last couple of chapters of my PD James novel, which has been a great read, to tackle, and a mug of tea has arrived courtesy of my lovely husband.
Hope everyone is having a good weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.