biddy

By biddy

And so it begins……

……at first we keep saying it feels like Autumn…..
……it is arriving in the unmistakeable hedgerows laden with red berries of the hawthorn….
….luscious blackberries,
…….fields shorn of their pasture, out in the surrounding countryside….
…..the squirrels chasing up and down the oak trees opposite collecting acorns….
……which they obligingly “hide” in pots in our gardens, or the flower beds….
…..now we can no longer leave it unacknowledged….
……the evenings are becoming darker each week that passes….
…..and I am having to learn to live within my limitations…..
But I’m watching my beautiful pink shrub roses flowering once again,
Catching the light in the fitful muted sunshine…….
Thankful to have slept well last night…..
And for our lovely friend who offered to bring his heavy duty mower this afternoon early on, before we are predicted to have heavy rain….
Stephen has gone to church….
…..I am watching on-line in the summerhouse….
So finally, as a squirrel is just burying an acorn by the old apple tree by the summerhouse,
I can say
Autumn is here to stay…..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.