Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Planes and Trains and Automobiles

This weekend is the '40's weekend' on the railway.  The stations are decorated in 40's style, and there is entertainment at each of the three stations.  Lots of visitors have dressed up in 40's clothing which looks good and really adds to the atmosphere.  We live in earshot of Holt station and have heard quite a good singer most of the afternoon singing Bobby Darin/Nat King Cole /Frank Sinatra numbers and similar songs.

At lunchtime a Lancaster bomber, one of only two still airworthy (the other is in Canada) was due to fly the length of the line so I went off to Weybourne station to get a shot of it coming over.  Although there were plenty of people on the station I was the only one standing taking shots on this hill just outside.  The pilot must have spotted me as the plane flew over the station and then veered left so it flew right over my head before carrying on down the line!  I've added an extra of it going over; a bit grainy as I had to lift the shadows a little.

I've added another extra; as I walked over Kelling Heath to get to Weybourne I passed three army-style 'Jeeps' by Windpump Crossing so had to get a shot of them.  I thought that one deserved a bit of 'vintage' treatment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.