Bright and Beautiful

By ThingsBeautiful

Seedheads

galore at Oxford Botanical Gardens :)

Although I had an incredibly bad night's sleep, I managed to go to Oxford on the train today.

The Botanical Gardens, although very busy still allowed me the space and peace that I craved.  I sat on the same bench as last time in a cool quiet area.

As I wandered around, I found the gardens looking very autumnal :)

Whilst I was there I put the Merlin app on for two lots of 10 minutes about 20 minutes apart...

The first session led to a goldcrest and european robin and of all things a Black-bellied Plover!!!  Having never heard of this bird I looked it up, and apparently they are resident in the USA in Florida and also in Canada.  Really can't believe that is here in the UK???  Birding friends anything?

The second session led much more familiar birds to be recorded - 

Goldcrest
European Robin
Great Tit
European Goldfinch
Common Firecrest - these are apparently breeding in very small numbers in the southern UK.

Eurasian Blue Tit
Long Tailed Tit

After spending a few hours in the gardens, I wandered over to the Westgate Shopping Centre hoping to find somewhere to have lunch, but couldn't find anywhere I fancied.  In the end on the way back to the station I bought more water and one of those boxes of mixed fruit from Sainsburys.

When I got to the station I needed the ladies before I got on the train.  They were the worst ever ladies toilets I have been in for a very long time.  (Reading station is great, as is Paddington and Kings Cross/Liverpool Street).


Ladies, what do you think - sanitary bins all overflowing, toilets unclean and unflushed ..  It doesn't take one day for this to happen does it?  There was no notice of 'cleaning visits' as you'd expect....

I spoke to an employee at the station and asked to speak to the Manager or Supervisor.  I was advised that they 'know' about the toilets - and no-one would be available to speak to me!

In fact going in the toilets, only because I was desperate to has made me feel ill, and I couldn't eat the fruit I'd bought to eat on the train.  I was very glad I always have wet wipes with me to use on my hands.

When I got home I got straight in the shower.  I've only just had some very plain rice and cooked chicken with plain yoghurt!

I've gone onto the Facebook page and written a complaint which was responded to via messenger immediately.  I was advised they had sent my complaint to the manager at Oxford - but they said unless I emailed, I wouldn't get a response...so I've emailed as well.

I am thinking of contacting the Health and Safety department at Oxford City Council and possibly the local MP as well!  What do people think?  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.