Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

A frustrating day

I set off for York yesterday at 11.30, intending to get to Clements Hall and the RPS Contemporary Group meeting by 1pm.

First I got caught up in traffic where the M1 joins the A1 - and you only have to do that short stretch before leaving again onto the A64.

As I drive along the A64 I think I'll probably have to stop at the supermarket and find a loo.  I don't get anywhere near the supermarket as the traffic is totally snarled up so I turn back onto the A64 and retrace some of my journey until I come to the services.  By which time I'm ready to admit defeat and return home.  So by way of a treat I stopped at M&S at the Woolley Services.  By chance, as I was sitting down to eat a very late lunch, I turned on Radio 4, which was broadcasting a really lovely programme focused on the Barnsley Civic and Eldon Street, which featured Simon Armitage and Ian McMillan.  

So three hours wasted in the middle of the day and all that petrol used! When you are driving alone you don't have anyone to replan your route for you and I didn't have the Sat Nav on as I thought I knew where I was going.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.