Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Bill

It’s always a treat to spend time in the company of Bill Ryder-Jones, and tonight was no exception. He was at The Tung Auditorium at the University of Liverpool to play songs from his forthcoming album, accompanied by a wonderful string quartet. Beautiful and moving. I can’t wait for the album! In the meantime, this year marks a decade since his second solo album (after leaving The Coral) ‘A Bad Wind Blows In My Heart’, so here’s a song from that, ‘Wild Swans’ www.youtube.com/watch?v=wZiFqALWits 

Bill’s performance was part of a superb double bill, the other half being provided by a string quartet of musicians from the amazing Manchester Collective https://manchestercollective.co.uk/bio who played a mind-blowing programme including: 

Cassandra Miller - Warblework
Samuel Barber - String Quartet Op. 11, ‘Adagio’
Jasmin Kent Rodgman - four-person simulation
Steve Reich - Different Trains

A few more pictures in the Extras.

Thanks to my lovely friend Sarah for going along with me this evening.

My life is currently chaotic on all fronts but I’ll keep Blipping when I can and will catch up with you properly once I’ve caught up with myself! Love to all xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.