Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Waterlily Companion

First off, I want to thank everyone who visited my 2920th Blip (8-years worth) yesterday with comments, stars and hearts which boosted me onto page 1 of popular blips; a rare occurrence and very gratifying!

Back down to earth, I needed some dinner (it's Friday, so has to be fish & chips) so headed out via Bagshot Heath for a walk past Bagshot Park, home of the Prince Edward, Duke of Edinburgh and his family, into Swinley Forest, around Tapley Lake and back.  

I have seen a number of birds on the lake, including cormorants, but today it was rather quiet with just an odd grebe swimming around. However, round the edges there are clumps of waterlilies with surprisingly numerous goldfish swimming under their pads.  This is not a formal garden lake, nor maintained as such, so I suspect these have been unwanted pets released into the water or streams feeding the lake and finding it to their liking have bred creating the shoal seen today. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.