Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Lit from within

We only have two varieties of dahlia in our garden - and this is definitely my favourite. 

Verrone’s Obsidian  - not a name that trips easily off the tongue - is star-shaped, short-lived and darkly beautiful. I love how the slender petals roll into themselves revealing their silky velvet textures, and the way the slightly lighter centre seems to be lit from within,  inviting pollinators - like this little hoverfly - to its golden core. 

I look up ‘obsidian’ - an inky black volcanic rock. In the world of crystal healing it is, apparently, ‘a sword against negative energy and a powerful anchor for keeping you grounded’. Perhaps that’s why I’m drawn to it ……

So, it’s a quick garden blip today, my energies focused on our lovely weekend guests.  It’s so good to see them both so happy, and to see  Solveig’s 18 week baby bump already showing! 


Hopefully, I’ll catch up with journals tomorrow! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.