Last of the Cosmos?

A year ago today I photographed swallows gathering for their flights to warmer climes, skimming and dipping over the water.  With the plummeting temperatures of this past week, I’m sure these gorgeous  birds are long gone - in fact I’ve hardly seen any for a while. Still. I’ve promised myself that today will mark my final swallow hunt this year, so it’s a trip to a Sychnant yet again. 

I’ve travelled more in hope than expectation, and sure enough, there’s not a swallow to be seen. And as it happens, that’s really no disaster as stupidly I’ve left my memory card in the card reader back at home! It means I miss some rather promising stonechat shots, but it’s a chance to just sit a while and watch.

So it’s left to garden shots back home, and fortunately there’s still life in the cosmos flowers - some near to perfect, others shrivelling with age, all benefitting from the afternoon sunshine. And after all, it’s Flower Friday; the swallows will have to wait until next year. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.