Windows to the Soul

It’s quite some time since we’ve visited Angel Bay, so today we put that right. This time last year, the bay was flat calm, full of bellowing seals glistening in a transparent blue. Today a cold wind whips up waves which crash against the rocks, and the only seals we see are silent. Soon the bay will be full of pupping females, but right now these sands are deserted but for three. 

I love to watch the seals, even on a chilly day like this, and I lie down on the clifftop grass to photograph them. It’s hard to get an interesting shot from this height and distance, and let’s face it, reclining seals are not the most photogenic subjects. Yet their eyes are deep set, dark and appealing - and here I’m drawn to the soulful eyes of this large seal beached up on the pebbles, momentarily lifting its head from sleep. Those blue eyes seem so sad. 

Then there’s another, coming in from the sea, sitting in the foam,  perhaps in conversation with a watching gull - my extra, though I suspect it may be preferred to my main! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.