Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Joyous

Blessed by yet another day of beautiful weather, we head off on a very gentle walk by the small lake at Sychnant; I’m too tired for much more than this! There are far fewer walkers around than at the weekend, but I’m disappointed that there are no ponies around either. 

As we walk past the rocky outcrops, the air seems to be full of swallows. Normally, we see stonechats flitting to and fro, but never swallows. Maybe they are gathering here before their migratory flights. I’m happy that I manage  a few shots of stationary birds perching on rocks; the light is perfect. 

We settle down by the water, looking for dragonflies, relaxing after a busy few days. And then, suddenly, squadrons of swallows appear, swooping across the water, dipping down at lightning speed to feed, wheeling round for a second approach or turning back towards the rocks. It’s almost as if this is a training exercise for novice flyers. 

The speed is so fast, I’m left with shots of blurs or empty water, and it seems I’ve missed my chance. But then they come again, and again - and gradually I seem to become more aware of their speed and direction and at last manage to capture their incredible movements. For me it’s as joyous as it seems to be for the bird in my main! (Worth viewing large)

Inevitably there are extras - and at this point I should say we spend some time discussing whether these are really swallows or swifts. My extra of the two on the rock seems to suggest swallows, but I’m happy to be corrected! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.