Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

SHARING LUNCH WITH FRIENDS

I still haven’t been back to Church yet, but continue to watch online.  However, I am hoping to go back next week for Harvest Festival and am looking forward to seeing everyone again.  It’s fine watching online, but it’s not the same singing on your own as with a congregation.  

I suddenly realised partway through the service that it was Communion this morning and even though I was on my own, wanted to be part of the Communion Service, so quickly got part of a digestive biscuit and a small glass of Shloer - I didn’t think Mr. HCB would appreciate me opening a bottle of red wine just to have a very small glass, and after all, these are only symbols.

After the service, which I did enjoy, I decided to set the table ready for our friends to come - we were just having a simple meal, so I baked some rolls - with thanks to Mr. Morrison for providing the half-cooked variety - and got the meats and cheese ready.  You may be wondering about the two ducks on the front left plate - our friend, R. collects them and our next door neighbour, Lynn, had got 3 from a man representing the R.A.F. Benevolent Fund outside Tesco’s the other day.  When I mentioned we had a friend coming who collected ducks, she very kindly donated two of them for him.  She is so kind and needless to say, R was delighted.

There was some good chat around the table and after the savoury lunch, we had some lovely gooey chocolate and also blueberry muffins that R & B had brought with them - there were four left, but as they are going on holiday at the end of next week, declined to take any back with them!

Thank you R & B for your company - we hope you have a great holiday - and come back refreshed.  

Thank you for your kind comments about the Silly Saturday Gang’s antics in the shower yesterday.  Contrary to what some of you might think, they are quite clean and when they get a little grubby, I do give them a wash!

Hope you all have a great week.  Not sure what the weather has in store for us, but this cooler weather is certainly easier to cope with then when it was very hot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.