Mucking about by/in the river

We took a picnic to Tarr Stepps today. Joel was working at his dishwashing/kp-ing job so couldn't come, but we managed to get Gemma to come with us - hooray!

As we got nearer to Tarr Steps we saw great swathes of purple on the surrounding hills and found out they were bluebells (I nearly typed "daffodils" then! (If I was Wordsworth I could have made something romantic and poetic of the moment of coming upon the bluebells...) )
Bluebells in June, on sunny exposed hills? A bit weird, huh?
And we saw Exmoor ponies. Yip!

After a nice walk and a nice picnic and lots of wet dog and a nice icecream, Tess got me to roll up her trousers so she could wade through the river. She's grown all inhibited this year and is no longer happy to play in her knickers if someone might see her.
Eight is a big age.

I took far too many photos and am confused about which one to pick, so Richard and Joel chose this one for me.

I got home with every intention of doing some gardening but it was too hot for me, and my arms and neck were itching from the sun, so I stayed in the shade.

After 6pm I came back out and picked some salad leaves. It's a momentous day in the Carter household today: I harvested my first potatoes!

We had tea in the garden and ate the potatoes with home-grown chives and salad.

Now to work out how to grow salmon and cheese and pasta...


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.