carliewired

By carliewired

78 F/ 25C

A day to wrap up,
then head for home again so
we start a new week

~ carliewired

We checked out of our motel before 9, then went looking for some breakfast. By 10 we were back inside the church in Ashcroft waiting for the plein air painters to gather for lunch. 

My daughter worked on miniature buildings which she painted on her nails. She picked four buildings she especially liked - two houses, the old firehall and the church we were meeting in. It was the most unusual 'plein air' exhibit of the weekend. It surprised a few people. 

For my part, I managed a pencil sketch of the Cariboo freight wagon which is on public display near the bridge. It was built in 1863 by my husband's great grandfather, Isaac Lehman, who was a wheelwright and a blacksmith among other things. 

I bought a painting of the pumpkin fields from another Kamloops painter. 

Before we left, we stopped at Desert Hills, a market garden with an amazing line of fresh produce. There were chicks and bunnies for sale, a great attraction for children. It is difficult to find a place to park here. 

My daughter did all the driving this weekend. For that I am very grateful as my feet were very disagreeable the whole time. 

We were home before 5 PM. I will be happy to sleep in my own bed once again. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.