Mikey88

By Mikey88

Tumbledown Shed

Sitting by the pond at lunchtime today, a damsel fly turned up. This was the first I've seen this year. A couple of years ago, we would have had fourteen or sixteen flitting about, but last year the population seemed to crash and we only had the odd one or two - and then they were different colours, so there were not eggs. I'm hoping for more this year.

I went to have a look at a local garden which was supposed to be open to the public under the 'Open Gardens' scheme. Having got the bike out and packed the camera, I was hoping to get some pictures and maybe arrange an early morning visit when the mist was over the valley.

Unfortunately, when I got there, there were no signs, nor any signs of people and not being one to go and ask, I gave up and went home again. So I decided to concentrate on macro again, but this time looking for textures, rather than backlit flowers.

However, my final choice for today combined the two - some interesting textures from the rotting wood and rusting bolts on the old shed at the bottom of the garden and a forget-me-not flower growing over the bolt.

It was another beautiful day down here agan, but the temperature has dropped outside, whereas it stayed quite warm through the night yesterday. A change is definitely on the way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.