PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

Thunderstorm passing by

It's not often that I take photos in the wee small hours, but this one was timed at 3.50am. Had been woken by a thunderstorm passing close by, but not quite overhead. The spectacular sheet lightning was very loud! I didn't know at the time that today's Mono Monday theme was 'in the dark' but this seems to fit quite well. A street lamp across the road is lighting up the rainfall as well as raindrops on our kitchen window. (Thanks to Kersti for hosting this month's MM challenge.)

Went back to sleep about an hour later, after the storm had moved on. The alarm woke me in time for me to get up and breakfasted comfortably before son-in-law picked me up to spend the day with our daughter and grandson. Stayed late enough to see our granddaughter arrive home from school, too. A lovely day! The Young Master played with his new wooden aeroplane. He likes me making it 'fly' around the room, as I make engine noises, only for the plane to land in his lap. Today I asked, "Can you make your aeroplane fly?" Straight away he did so, making an appropriate sound, and eventually letting go to let it land by itself. Oh, I do love being a granny!

Edit to add note to self: in the evening suddenly experienced another migraine aura with loss of half my vision (while watching TV). Took Migraleve and little by way of headache developed, thank goodness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.