A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

Flamingo

This is one of favorite permanent art installations in downtown Chicago. I think what I like most about its crimson color. It pops against the black Federal building and my heart skips a beat every time I come upon it. Today I had to drive downtown to pick up my cap and gown for my graduation ceremony on Saturday. I parked on the street a few blocks away from DePaul campus and was walking in the general direction of campus. I turned a corner and there it was right in front of me, my favorite statue. There have been other times where I couldn't recall exactly where it was and tried to find it on foot, but on this day it found me.

It is called Flamingo and you can read more about it here.

Today I am thankful for art that does not blend in with its environment (like me in many respects).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.