Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

SOMETIMES IT JUST HAS TO BE DONE!

Although Mr. HCB has been out, I hadn’t been out since Saturday morning, so asked Mr. HCB if we could go out today and he suggested we went to Three Trees Farm Shop Café  to have coffee and a slice of cake this afternoon.

Before that though, he took me to the Pharmacy, where I was able to speak to a Pharmacist about reducing my medication.  I was aware that I was on 19 tablets a day and although at the beginning I needed all of them, I was still feeling very sleepy during the day, so thought that perhaps I should start reducing some of them.

The Pharmacist I saw was very helpful and when we finished chatting, I told her that I would make a spreadsheet so that I could put on there how I could reduce the various tablets.  She said that one of them in particular should not be reduced immediately, but that I should do it in stages, just as I had started taking that medication.  When I showed her my original spreadsheet, she asked if I had been a teacher, but I told her that I had been a Legal Secretary most of my working life, which she said figured!  

I love Excel, but don’t have it on my Mac, so it was a learning curve for me doing this on Numbers, but now, I have a multi-coloured spreadsheet- see extra - and hope that by mid October, I will be medication-free, which is my aim and I will be so pleased.  

When we arrived at Three Trees Farm Shop Café, after looking at the menu, we decided that we could have a cream tea for the same price as a slice of cake with coffee - in fact, it was probably a bit cheaper.  Mr. HCB opted for a cheese scone, without jam and cream obviously, but mine was a fruit scone - although I prefer a plain one if I am having “the works” but I have to say it was delicious and I had a whole tub of clotted cream to myself!  Of course, I put the jam and cream on the correct, Cornish, way and enjoyed every mouthful - what a treat!

I had just taken a couple of bites when a dear friend, Gill, and her son, Dan, appeared - so that was another lovely treat.  I should have taken a shot of them as Dan completed the  Ironman Challenge at Weymouth last weekend to raise money for Different Strokes - a charity that supports and empowers younger stroke survivors in the UK.  He told us that the weather was horrendous and that the swim part of the challenge had to be cancelled because the sea was too rough, which was a shame.  However, he still raised about £1,100, which was great, so Well Done, Dan!  

I think after the cream tea, I need to start a fitness régime but perhaps I will wait until I am off my medication too!  

Thank you to everyone who has left lovely comments, stars and hearts for previous Blips - I do appreciate every one and really hope to be back soon, especially when I’m not feeling so sleepy!

P.S.  Mr. HCB will not be happy that I have used this shot of him - but hey, why not?  ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.