WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Tiny creatures

I was out of blip ideas today so thought I'd join in the Tiny Tuesday challenge for once (thanks JDO). These butterflies were tiny and very fluttery, and I don't have a macro lens, so it was tricky. The underside of their wings is so pretty though, with its zebra stripes and the coloured eyes. It's Leptotes Pirithous (Lang's short-tailed blue). See extra 1 for the upper side; I think this is a female as the male is bluer). Highly cropped, so it's a bit fuzzy.

As I was pursuing butterflies around the garden of the holiday centre, gardener D spotted me and instantly came over to say he had carefully preserved an orchid in the lawn. It was so tiny and insignificant that we walked carefully while looking for it in case we trod on it. We both thought it odd that an orchid would be flowering in September. I said I'd take a photo and Google it, so it's extra 2. A Spiranthes Spiralis, or autumn lady's tresses.

So that is my big adventure of the day. Two new to me species and I haven't blipped butterflies or flowers for ages.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.