WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Fag break

Blurb to come, power cut permitting. OK, power on again now. It’s very unusual to have a power cut nowadays, but it used to be very common when we first moved here, so our folk memory and previous preparedness over decades allowed us to use our phone torches to winkle out candles and matches.

We had run out of fruit and appetising food in general, so I decided I’d better go to the market this morning. There were fewer stalls than usual, but I still managed to buy apples, prunes, grapes, tomatoes, and white aubergines. The very talented violinist who has featured here before was busking, so it was a pleasure to sit down with a coffee and listen to her. These are the only buskers that people pause to listen to and applaud, and there was plenty of cash in her violin case.

From there I headed to the supermarket. It absolutely bucketed down with rain while I was in there, had stopped when I came out, but a few kilometres down the road it was bone dry. But pouring when I got home. Bonkers weather.

Gym this evening for the first time in weeks. I was a lot better than I expected, although no-one matched M’s 3-minute plank. Left over pizza when I got home, then reading by candlelight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.