MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Ivy Visitors 19

Top of the ivy league today, the central image, is a Graphomya maculata or muscid fly. I call it the spotty bottom fly. It's such a smart fly, it has a tweedy, charcoal and white thorax and orange-brown abdomen. I love it.

The ladybird is a Harlequin, redeemed because it has a heart shape between its eyes. The tiny pink fly has very long antennae which can't be seen in my image. I haven't identified the solitary bee top right. A bumble bee on the left and a bumble bee mimic hoverfly on the right.

The wasp bottom left was the first subject I photographed early this morning. There wasn't much else about. It was absolutely smothered in pollen and seemed a bit sluggish. Maybe it was ailing? The middle bottom bee looks very similar to an ivy bee but is smaller and white striped instead of yellow. I've included the fly because I like its nuanced colour.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.