Norm53

By Norm53

At the edge of the world.

When I used to come up to Skye many years ago, I always booked in to my hotel, got back in my car and drove up to this point. It’s such an exhilarating place to be. You do literally feel as though you are stood at the edge of the world. Today I shared this experience with Sal.
We drove along the eastern edge of the Island, first stopping at Sligachan to see the Cuillin Hills. Amazingly they were all in view, I had fully expected them to be in cloud.
We then had a coffee on the outskirts of Portree before calling in one of the bakeries for a couple of sandwiches. The town was absolutely heaving so we beat a hasty retreat up the coast.
The Storr was jam-packed as well so we didn’t stop and headed up to my viewpoint.
After that we drove up to The Quiraing which probably had more people there than Blackpool on a bank holiday! We took the obligatory photos of the impressive scenery and set off back to Balmacara.
I now remember why I vowed never to return to The Isle of Skye. I’m glad I took Sal to see it and she is glad she came up but we both agreed Wester Ross was much more to our liking.
I’ll say it again - I will never return to The Isle Of Skye and you can all be my witness!! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.