Marking Time

By Libra

Winter vaccines

It’s been a dreich day and it was tempting to stay indoors curled up with my new book but I needed a blip.
So I had a walk around our local reservoir this afternoon. The place was totally deserted apart from these ducks.
 
I wonder if others have found that an unexpected side effect of blipping is that it gets you out of he house forcing you to take a daily walk when in other circumstances it would be all too easy to stay indoors especially in bad weather.


For once I eagerly search the post for a letter from the NHS with a date for my flu and Covid vaccine. Other friends have already been given their dates.
 
I  learnt today there is a new vaccine one on offer  for shingles.
 It’s called Shingrix and requires two doses and provides 90 per cent protection compared to the older single dose, which only offered 50 per cent.
 
So far I have only heard of one person, and she is in London, who has had it, though it was only rolled out in the UK at the beginning of the month. 
I would be interested to hear if you know anyone who has received it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.