Greenstead

By Greenstead

Wet and WINDY

Still under the influence of the dying hurricane, and our only opportunity to explore Blackpool we decided to try a programme of events where activities were inside as well as out. I got my blip shot of the view from our hotel window. Nothing prepared me for the wind when I got outside so I was quite surprised to be pinned to a wall by a gust of wind. It really shows you how insignificant we are when a bit of wind can do that! A taxi driver was so concerned about me that he stopped to check I was ok. This would never happen in Surrey! Fortunately my friends appeared just as I was talking to the driver and we were able to get across the road. I don’t think I could have done it without them! So our first adventure was a tram ride along the coast to Fleetwood, a key port in the 19th century often used by Queen Victoria. Apparently Shap Fell couldn’t be crossed as it was too steep so visitors to the west coast had to take a ferry from Fleetwood if they wanted to go to Scotland. I suspect some people wish this was still the case :-))
Fortunately the wind wasn’t too bad here and we had an interesting visit. Sadly the area was somewhat run down, and with the rain setting in, we returned to Blackpool. I had to dry my trousers on the radiator in the bathroom as I was rather soggy when I got back to the hotel. Extras are the marina at Fleetwood and the shopping outlet there. You can see how many people are there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.