tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Communicado

Walking along the path here I heard someone chattering away below the wall and I put Raki on her lead in case it was the folk who have undisciplined spaniels. But when our paths crossed further along I saw it was just one person talking on her phone.
The day before,  I was startled to hear a lone cyclist holding an animated conversation as he powered up the road, using a microphone attached to his jacket.
Isn't modern technology wonderful? But what happened to solitude?

Would Wordsworth have wandered lonely as a cloud among the daffodils if his phone had pinged when his sister wanted to know if he'd be back for tea?

Would Robert Frost have consulted a map on his phone  before choosing which road to take in the yellow wood?

I know you can switch off but the urge to check for  messages and updates is curiously strong. Chatting means you don't  take in the view or notice the bird calls or experience being alone.
I'm interested in what others think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.