CrocusMan

By TonyG

Pollination

Fingers crossed.

Two forms of Crocus boryi in flower in the greenhouse today, the afternoon sunshine opening the flowers nicely and bringing out pollinators ... including me with my fine paintbrush, trying to pick up pollen from the anthers and deposit on the stigmas.  Whether by my efforts or not, there's white pollen clearly visible on the stigmas of both flowers, so hopefully I will get seed next spring.

I didn't get long out there today as I had used a good part of my spare time at pottery, starting work on a couple of bowls and what I hope will be a larger version of my two halves joined, spherical vase.

After lunch I dropped into Jamie's and we began work on finding out about a move for him to Brighton where Clara is studying.  While it would be great if we could turn up suitable long term accommodation now, it's likely to take a while so we're also keen to find an affordable option for short stays in the area when he can spend time with Clara and also start getting to know Brighton in all it's diversity.   Needing somewhere wheelchair accessible makes it more complicated even though he's a very agile and independent user.  It's all another big project.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.