Wendy's World

By Wendles56

Humpback Rainblow!

The highlight of today was an afternoon's whale watching.  Due to Hurricane Lee, Tina the Educator told us that the waters off Gloucester had disturbed the usual feeding grounds so we were fortunate to spend an hour or so in the company of a locally recognized Humpback named Fan by the scientists studying them. She was first recorded spending her summer here in 1988 but her true age is unknown because she was not recorded as a calf. 

I took far too many photos of Fan fluking but the rainbow in her spray has won out as my blip. I didn't bring my big lens with me so it is not the best capture but it will serve as a reminder of a privileged afternoon.

It goes without saying that Euan was wowed by seeing a real whale so close.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.