Living my dream

By Mima

Turned

It wasn’t my intention, but it has been a very busy day. 

I was chasing my tail for a while to get useful jobs done before a forecast deluge this afternoon. So I cleaned a few gutters, dug fresh shallow trenches across the drive to direct surface water away from the garage, and trimmed a handful of pittosporum trees which drip water onto me as I walk up the path to the truck when it’s been raining. 

But the rain has receded further and further into the future. The sun is still shining at 5.45pm, when we were forecast to be getting 9mm rain between 5pm and 6pm. The current guesstimate from MetService is that it will reach us at 8pm, and in less biblical torrents than originally predicted. 

This is far from unusual. Rain rarely arrives as forecast, either in terms of time and volume. We desperately need it, so I’m a little miffed that my expectations have been dashed.

However I had a good workout clambering up and down the ladder to the gutters, and then I worked my core as I wielded a pick axe to break up the gravel on the drive to create runnels. 

The kitchen tasks on my list - for when it was supposed to be raining - including turning the Camemberts. They have developed a good rind and are almost ready to wrap and store for a further couple of weeks prior to eating.

The supervisor has been… erm … supervising through her eyelids.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.