A good bloke

I have an ongoing emergency roof repair from earthquake damage. The process of dealing with EQC was torture but eventually someone from Fletchers EQR (emergency quake repairs) contacted me, and then Darryn. He's the boss of the company assigned to fix it.

I've lost count of how many times he's been to my place and up on the roof in the last 6-8 weeks. The leak in my bedroom seems to be sorted but the one in the spare room happily leaks like the proverbial sieve.

It's a process of elimination. Darryn explains what he's found and what he's done. Next time I describe what happened when it rained, he looks inside and out and figures out something else.

Today he thought the big box window that sticks out from each bedroom may have twisted in the quakes and caused a separation around the window framing. He found a gap of a couple of millimeters and in the photo has just sealed it all up.
If that doesn't work he'll be removing the small area of flat roof above each box window.

I'm immensely grateful. I asked him if I needed to phone EQC again. "No, I'll deal with all that. I'm in contact with them regularly and all they'll do is send it back through the system and eventually it will come to me".

He knows I have a bit on my plate at present and all I have to do is text or call. Each time he reassures me he'll find the leak and I'm sure he will.

What a good bloke.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.