The high country

Today's trip wasn't the one I'd hoped for but it was in the high country I love and that in itself was enough. The trip I'd intended doing was somewhere up in the murk on the far left. Not so much fun in the murk so a good call.

We did a circuit in the Korowai/Torlesse tussock lands. Here you can see Lake Lyndon (where I sometimes fish for Rainbow Trout) and the intermontaine basin between the Torlesse and Craigieburn Ranges. State Highway 73 between the Christchurch and the West Coast is the road you can see. The sweep of road to the right in the foreground takes you up and over Porters Pass.

Large is the only way to view the high country

I loved it.

Afterwards one of my mates called in and gave my crampon adjustments the once over. He being a bit of a gun made a couple more tweaks and now boots and crampons are rock solid. Just the way it should be.

And now all those necessary tasks to make sure I get out to the door and on my bike by 7.30 in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.