Solid

I headed over to Merivale today to get some prints done. I'm not really a Merivale girl so wandered around outside while I waited.

I was struck by the solid look to the foundations and framing on this new building. The old one semi collapsed in the 2011 Feb earthquake. Compare with this blip I think where we see a slice of rebuild today is about the second shop from the left (the one with the shoe boxes visible upstairs).

Large is more solid

Progress. But sadly progress for many people with their private insurance and EQC (Earthquake and War Commission all New Zealanders contents and house insurance contribute) isn't happening at the same rate. There is a huge human cost still going on, mostly invisible to the media (and politicians).

But a good day for hpx. Surprisingly balmy when I headed off for my run this morning. It was no where near as cold as I expected on the hills. I did a few ups and downs then home to get stuck into some domestics.

After my prints were done I went and picked up my replacement gortex mountain gloves. I'm impressed to have them replaced in less than a week. Unfortunately my wee climb tomorrow is post phoned because the weather is going to be to be white out conditions and I won't need these gloves.

I have an alternative trip on the edge of the mountains at a lower altitude. No ice axe or crampons but it will still be good to get out of the city and into the hills. I'll still need gloves, just a different pair ;-)

The best part of today was catching up with an old friend I haven't seen for ages. She's one of those friends you just pick up with. We both agreed we have much to be thankful for in life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.