Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Carpe Diem

After a bad night, I wake up feeling better and more positive today. Thank you all so much for your words of sympathy and encouragement  - they really do help. I’m afraid I’m behind again, but will reply to comments individually.  

I have a hospital appointment this afternoon; I need to see the breast consultant to check out a ‘development’.  It’s fine - but further evidence that the disease is still very much active. Yesterday, I may well have burst into tears, but today, I just accept the situation. 

And so a walk along a very windy West Shore is just what I need.  Fortunately, the sun dissipates the chill to an extent, and the light through the towering cumulous is gorgeous.  There are several kite surfers enjoying the conditions, colourful kites catching the light against the darkness of the clouds. 

I’m struck by the complete joy of this - the seizing  of the day. The wind, the tide - conditions perfect for these surfers - they rush down to the sea to make the most of every moment, riding the waves, rising up high on the powerful lift of the wind, harnessing nature’s forces for an all too brief moment, living every second to the full. It’s not a bad metaphor for life …… 

Not for the first time, I get completely carried away photographing the kite surfers, notching up over 800 shots - ridiculous I know. So unsurprisingly, there’s a set today …. 

Incidentally, there were several other proverbs that came to mind for this! 

Every cloud has a silver lining
If at first you don’t succeed, try, try again 
No pain, no gain
Pride comes before a fall 
What goes up, must come down
Time flies 

Thanks to Steveng for hosting - a very interesting challenge! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.