Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Budding Optimism

It’s been a rather strange day. I have my monthly telephone call with my lead consultant from Liverpool and I have the distinct impression that she knows the TB treatment is not producing the results she’d hoped for. I have just under three months to go, but already she’s preparing me for the fact that symptoms may well continue for a further year after the main treatment stops, and that I’ll probably have to continue with at least two of the antibiotics.  As for the catheter, she seems to feel it will be in place for some time to come. In many ways, she’s only saying what I’ve already been thinking, but today it just feels a little hard to take. 

So it’s probably not the best time to attend my first meeting with the local camera club. G has been trying to persuade me to join for ages, and - bless him - has joined with me taking advantage of the ‘couples’ membership’ rate. I can’t drive at the moment, so he feels he may as well attend meetings with me - and to be honest, my confidence is now so low, I’d probably never go in on my own. Everyone is very welcoming, and the speaker very entertaining and informative - it’s a session on submitting prints for exhibitions. I manage the first hour, but then a combination of pain and panic hit and we have to leave. I’m just not sure it’s for me - but I’ll probably give it another go when I’m feeling better. 

Not the best day for photography then, but I do manage a wander in the garden when the rain has eased to drizzle. Despite the autumnal conditions, some flowers are in optimistic bud, like this Gaura lindheimeri which has flowered repeatedly since June. 

I think I need to follow its example! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.