The day thou gavest ……

I don’t think I took much notice of the Queen until recent years, when she became a final bastion of the things I had associated with my parents and with their generation, and I knew her death would bring a sense of loss. 

I watched most of the funeral coverage today, glad of an excuse to just relax, but also loving the whole choreography, music, architecture, colour, ritual and dignity of the occasion, though I know there are many who consider the whole thing a vast extravagance. 

It seems fitting to post a sunset tonight - a West Shore sunset that came as a surprise after a day of brooding cloud.  The end of an era, the end of ten days of ‘National Mourning’, and time to move on to a new day, whatever that may bring. 

It will come as no surprise to learn I’m unsure what to post - two very different shots. I’m going for the more conventional sunset, but I may well change! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.