Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Potsdam

We had a rather rude awakening at midnight last night when the fire alarm went off and the hotel had to be evacuated.  Being fast asleep, I spent the first few seconds waving my arm in the air wondering why I couldn't find the wall, let alone the light switch, until I realised that I wasn't at home in my own bedroom but in a Berlin hotel.  Thankfully it was a false alarm but still attended by four fire engines and two police cars, and we were soon allowed back in and managed to get back to sleep.

Today we went to Potsdam.  Our prime objective was to see the Impressionist paintings in the Barberini Museum but intended to, at least, do the sightseeing tour bus around the town.  In the end, we enjoyed the paintings so much we spent a long time in there and didn't leave time for much else.  We'll just have to come back another year.  We had an hour to kill before our entry time so had a walk into town where we stopped at the cafe on the right of the extra for a quick drink while being entertained by three excellent buskers playing guitar, accordion and saxophone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.