suehutton

By suehutton

Football in the Park

And it was raining. But that didn't seem to matter to William and Edward who had great fun running about and kicking a ball for twenty minutes or so.

Of course, when we arrived at their home in the morning to babysit Edward for the day while Daddy George was working upstairs, it was bright and sunny. A really heavy shower caught us while we were walking to the field. Luckily, we were in the lee of a row of trees and bushes so didn't get too wet but Edward sat down a lot in the wet grass afterwards. It didn't seem to bother him.

A friend in East Leake messaged me once I got home to tell me that my brother is very poorly and has gone into a care home. His mate has been clearing his effects from the house and had found family photos. He wanted to get in touch to find out if I wanted them.

So James rang back less than a minute later and we had a long chat. It sounds as if my brother has demential exacerbated by long-standing mental illness which he refused to have treated. Apparently he slagged me off to everyone and didn't want me to have anything from the house where Mum and Dad had lived for the last few years of their lives. But they were family photos. My brother is scarcely recognising anyone. Not only that, my parents' ashes are languishing in the airing cupboard. I said I would take them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.