The Pensioner

By Pensioner

Birthday Outing

To Newcastle. What larks; a free rein in M&S at Waverley Station to load up with goodies for the trip. I mean, it’s a 90 minute journey - you can pack a lot in. And then we walked it off - all the way to the Baltic (weather note: it was actually quite warm, not at all Baltic). For there was an exhibition by one Larry Achiampong including an 80 minute film, Wayfinder. According to the blurb, he draws on his shared and personal heritage to explore class, gender, the intersection between popular culture and the residues of colonisation. Engaging, and for the white affluent pensioner, a jolly good day out!
Intersection, yes indeed. That's a thing these days and I think it’s more than a traffic junction. So much new stuff for old dogs to get abreast of. I even printed out my own birthday card to her in the card shop. Amazing, I declared to the assistant as she helped me open my wallet and select a payment card rather than my bus pass.
Ah yes, back to today - home and the grand present opening! Whoop whoop! We’re going to a secret thing in December! I hope I remember what it is when the time arrives as I’ve told no one. Maybe I should write it down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.