The Pensioner

By Pensioner

Newhaven

I went a-walking around the neighbourhood, with my cool new earphones. They are fabulous. I hadn’t realised that it’s fifty years since the overthrow of Allende in the American instigated coup until I started listening to The Rest is History podcast. When I arrived at freshers week in 1974 I remember that the stall for the Chilean Solidarity Society was in full swing. A cause célèbre at that time. And rightly so, though I probably missed the fact that however many signed up to the Chilean Solidarity Soc, it was less than a tenth of the numbers signing up to the Conservative Association. It was a decade before I saw Missing with Jack Lemmon and Sissy Spacek. I think that made more of an impact on me that anything I’d seen before about the coup. Ooops it wasn’t all about me though. The problems of earphones. 
Later, a film - The Beasts, about an idealistic French expatriate couple who arrive in a remote area of Galicia to run an organic farm but who run into conflict with their neighbours who are “simple” hill folk. Pretty darn good, with a nice bit of tension in there. Keep to the main roads in the countryside, folks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.