Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Common but cute

This morning i went to Lakeside Country Park to blip their pair of resident great crested grebes.  I spent hours chasing about trying to get shots - and I did get some but, if I'm going to be honest, I just didn't think they were good enough.  The Lakes were formed by old gravel pits so you can imagine how big they are.  The grebes like sailing out to the middle then falling asleep.  When (if) they come nearer to the edge it is always on the further side.  So you go round to that side only to find they have crossed over again.  We played this silly game for a couple of hours, then I suddenly thought I had them.  Unfortunately, when I got the pictures home I realised the algeal bloom had done horrible things to the background colours that I couldn't remedy.  Sigh!

So instead here are two of the common but cute mallards who have also made the Lakes their home.  Soon there will be hundreds more birds coming in for the winter.  Both for them and for the grebes, I have made a resolution to go back and try again!

Hope your day's been a good one.  Have a great weekend  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.